1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any suggestions for a 5 string?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sidbyrnes, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Long story short: I have been playing guitar for 15 years- We needed a bass player in our band so i "temporarily" filled in- I played "I wish" by Stevie Wonder last summer and I have been hooked ever since, I cant put the bass down! Anyway, we have a spring /summer full of gigs and I need to buy my own bass- Im borrowing an Ibanez SG Prestige 5 (out of this world!). Im pretty sure I'm hooked on this guitar but I can't find any like it? It's bubinga/wenge with stock Ibenez p/u's.
    I've played a fender jazz 5-i hate it, a washburn 5- nothing special to be, cheaper ibanez sg's-yuck. I dont have any guitar shops within 200 miles that have more than 20 basses to look at...Any ideas?

btw im currently playing through a berrighnger head (sucks) and a big ben (sounds good outside,lol). I feel like I need to add some 10's and a nicer head to the big ben (1x18) any idead for that?

I play rock/funk/blues//jazz/- no metal really

2. oldrookie

oldrookie

May 15, 2007
    Avon, IN
    Describe the neck size, feel, finish of the ideal bass...the one you play--the one you want --and you'll get some suggestions.

I'm a huge fan of the G&L Tribute L2500, but the neck felt enormously thick when I first picked it up. Took some time to get used to it, but now love it. Very versatile bass.

3. Ahh. Thanks, I like the 34 inch scale and smaller nut size. I don't mind small string spacing because I played slap on my guitar before playing bass and the SG Prestige feel like here is tons of room to me.
    Looks: I prefer a natural look, not a big fan of painted guitars or pickguards. I like a oil finish, even though it will get beat up. Same with the neck, i kind of prefer an oil finish.