1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any Sunn o))) fans here?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Visirale, Oct 2, 2008.

1. Visirale

Visirale

Mar 23, 2003
    Orlando
    I'm just getting into them and I absolutely love it! I want to play in a band like that so I can run my 810 with the titan, and get a mesa 400+ and run it through 2 215s. DOOMY.

What other bands in the same vein should I check out?

Has anyone been lucky enough to see them live? What kind of hearing protection did you bring?

2. Nyarlathotep

Nyarlathotep Banned

Feb 5, 2006
    West Coast of Canada
    Boris. Merzbow maybe?

Im really trying to remember my collection of drone..... "Absolutego" and "Sun Baked Snow Cave" are a must from Boris IMHO. SBSC is a colab with merzbow.

BTW, TB tends to be a little "conservative" when it comes to fringe genres. There are some metalheads on here (myself included) and some fans of the stoner rock, but not so much the noise and drones stuff. I'd suggest PMing Matt Till. He's a fountain of knowledge on this type of thing :D

3. Tired_Thumb

Tired_Thumb Guest

Bunkur is a two bass drone band, worth checking out.

Bongripper is a local drone band that tunes their guitars all the way down to F.

There's two more for you to try.

4. Deluge Of Sound

Deluge Of Sound Banned

Nov 8, 2007
    Maine/Vermont
    +1 On Merzbow and Boris. Matt Till will disagree, but Merzbow is fantastic. Sunn 0)) also did a record with Boris called Altar. Get it as fast as possible, it's amazing.

Check out OM, too. Also, the bassist from Bongripper (Ron Now) posted a link to a torrent of their album Hate Ashbury... on here a little while ago, I'll dig up the link 'cause that record is killer.
    Here it is:
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=430708