Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any teacher recomendations for New York City?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by bassdivo, Nov 16, 2003.

1. I am a bassist in New York City attending the jazz program at New School University. The program allows you to take lessons with any teacher in the New York area. I'm a fairly advanced player but I want to really have someone who can help my technique. Electric bass experience would be nice too. Tell me who are the taskmasters in NYC :D

2. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    Donosaur and I have each had extremely positive experiences studying with Michael Moore. He's a gracious person. He has a thoroughly-considered teaching method. He's a true virtuoso and a deep musician.

Michael is sometimes slagged by the downtowners as a "conservative" player because many of his high-profile gigs are straightahead. Don't let them fool you: Listen to the music. Michael is a risk-taking jazz artist and an agressive backer (that's a compliment in my book) who uses standards as his platform.

Whoever you choose, have fun!

3. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Pat Pfeiffer 212-831-8146 - at least that was his number several years ago. he's expensive but has a great reputation and i think he's one of the best. I was only able to afford a couple of lessons with him, but I got a lot out of them. I also interviewed a lot of teachers and he seemed to be the only one that really got through to me. Great guy too.

4. Michael Moore