Any tips, advice when going pro (+ synth beginner).

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Syl_Funky_bass, Sep 17, 2020.

1. Syl_Funky_bass

Syl_Funky_bass

Jun 4, 2016
    Hi guys,

It seems I might get the opportunity to go professional. I get more and more calls and start making me a name in the local scene.

What would be your best pieces of advice for a 32 year old bass player who finally and quite surprisingly gets the chance to make a profession out of his passion? Any tips, ideas, golden rules are welcome.

Then, more specifically but still related to my first question, I'm also asked more and more to play synthbass. Therefore I bought a Novation Bass Station II about 6 months ago. I'm very pleased with it and thanks to hours of practice on that new instrument during the last months and to my advanced knowledge of the bass I feel quite comfortable and confident that I can offer something enjoyable on synth.
    I was an absolute beginner on synth until 6 months ago (never played piano in my life either).
    To those of you who have been/were in the same situation as me, what would you advise me?

The genres I play in the various projects I'm involved with are: funk, hip-hop, R'nB, electro pop.

Thanks guys.

2. I haven't "been there, done that" so all I can really offer is to take every opportunity as a learning experience rather than "did I do good enough?" moments. No matter how it went, you can learn something from it. This is a good approach to many industries and vague, I know.

I wish you the best of luck! :thumbsup:

Syl_Funky_bass likes this.
  3. Paulabass

Paulabass

Sep 18, 2017
    I think the question requires more info. Do you want to tour as a side man, record sessions, tour as a BL, or any of the other 'professional' jobs in the industry ? (teaching is professional, as is demoing gear at trade shows, it's a BIG industry)