Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any Tips For the Starter

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jcwillcanada, Apr 5, 2001.

1. jcwillcanada

jcwillcanada

Apr 5, 2001
    Canada
    Hey everybody, I just started bass at christmas and I need some help. I am just learning how to read normal notes. I've got a HAMER bass and a WASHBURN BAD-DOG amp. I can sortof play the chorus to a few songs via tab but other than that i'm a lost soul. I absolutely love playing my bass but the truth is i really suck. I can play the x-files, mission impossible, james bond and some other riffs and songs. If anybody has some songs that are pretty cool, yet pretty easy. Thanks

2. DanGouge

DanGouge

May 25, 2000
    Canada!
    Well congrats on choosing the bass and welcome to Talkbass. If I can give you one recommendation it would be this: THEORY! I don't know how much of a theory background you have but learning some good basic theory will serve you much better in the long run than learning any number of riffs. Theory allows you to improvise and make up your own stuff and understand WHY a bass line works not just how it works. I know it isn't that exciting or anything but a good understanding of music theory and lots and lots of practice are the best ways to master the bass.
    -Dan

3. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000
    TX
    The only advice I would have is find a *GOOD* teacher and stick with it (notice the *'s around good...don't settle for a crappy teacher).

By the way, welcome to TalkBass. I'm sure that the people here can answer just about any questions you have, and if they can't, they can find you someone that can!