1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any tips for using my Boss ME-20B and VT-Bass in a live situation?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Philthy, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Philthy

Philthy Supporting Member

Jun 12, 2001
    Flanders, NJ
    Hello Fellow TBers,

I just picked up a Boss ME-20B multi effects pedal board and I'd like to incorporate it when playing with my hard rock/metal cover band. I'm currently using a VT-Bass pedal with my GK MB-500 head for my "straight" sound. I'm new to multi effects pedals so I'm trying to figure out the easiest way to use this thing in a live situation.

Ideally, I'd like to keep the VT-Bass as my straight (clean, if you will) signal and then apply some of the Boss effects to that. With some of the music I cover I would need a scooped EQ effect to cover Korn, a grittier distortion to cover RATM and Marilyn Manson and an effect to mimic a Tool sound (ie: Sober).

The majority of the other tunes I play would be just a straight sound from my VT-Bass.

Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to accomplish this? Manual mode vs. Memory mode on the ME-20B? I know you can put it in bypass while in memory mode by hitting pedals 1 and 2 simultaneously but not sure how accurate you can do that live - two pedals at the exact same time. Or is it best to create a patch that is a flat signal which is as close to my original signal as possible?

Forgive me if some of my questions are elementary but I'm trying to get some tips on using my first multi effects unit. So, if anyone out there has any suggestions or tips, please fire away.

Thanks!!!

2. I´d say use it in memory mode. Stepping on 1 & 2 to make the tuner appear (and bypass the effects) can be a bit fidgety, but you can always set a patch to be as transparent as possible.