1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anybody ever sell all or most of your gear to pay off non-emergency debt?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by donahue, Nov 10, 2018.

1. donahue

donahue Supporting Member

Jun 10, 2015
    Oregon
    I'll start off by saying I totally understand selling gear to pay for a medical or family emergency etc but this discussion is not about that situation.

I've accumulated a pretty respectable gear collection over 15 years but I also have about $25k in remaining student loan debt I've been paying on for almost 10 years as well. The loan payoff process is slow and a burden due to the what-seems-like perpetual payment I make.

I couldn't pay off the whole loan with the sale of all my gear but I could put a real fat dent in it and lately I've been thinking about it. However, the thought of parting with most or all of my gear is kind of scary as well :(

Has anybody ever sold most or all of their gear to pay off non-emergency loans or debt: auto, home, student, credit card etc. Was it worth it in the long run and how did it feel? Discuss please.

el_Bajo_Verde and jeffmensch like this.
  2. Lost my job - not quite the same thing, but I do have money in savings but finding another job has been a challenge all year. Started selling off my collection. Some days its tough but I have a lot I’ve been buying and selling for over 30 years. Of course the stuff that most people want is the gear you least want to part with. And people typically don’t want to pay much cash for your gear - many just looking for a deal (hey, of all people, I get it!) - so you end up selling your best gear for mediocre money.

In your case - what is your student loan interest rate? If low, no worries - pay a little extra each month. If high, get that loan paid off asap!

3. Stumbo