1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

anybody never uses amp on stage(only Di/PA)?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by walibi, Mar 9, 2008.

1. walibi

walibi

Feb 5, 2008
    EUROPE/FRANCE
    Hi
    i'm in europe,new to this Forum,
    and this is my first post,now after the bad news,
    i'm sorry if i'm asking something too obvious but my search through TB archives wasn't too satisfying and considering my question could fit in different categories,i feel free to ask here if some of you players are used to playing live without using amps, only relying on DI and monitoring,and what do you feel about it?
    don't get me wrong i'm not asking for a "suitable" gear list but rather a global concept!

i've been playing upright and electric bass for many years,tried a lot of different setups but still find myself very oftenly frustrated in live situations,when it comes to hear myself good without being too loud(and achieving a decent sound if possible,without having to play too hard on the instrument,maybe i'm asking too much!)i should say i'm usually using the house equipment,though i noticed that if you're lucky they'll bring an old SVT but will not even mike it,and use DI signal only to the front,so the amp ends up being your bass monitor in some way,which in the case of the SVT is cool but a little useless in my opinion...i hope you understand what i'm trying to express here!

any help would be appreciated!

2. Rob Mancini

Rob Mancini Guest

Feb 26, 2008