1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anybody use linkedin.com professionally?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by mambo4, Nov 30, 2010.

1. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas
    I have received a couple of requests by people I know to connect with them via www.linkedin.com.

i looks sort of like a Facebook but targeted towards professional networking. honestly I'd rather not 'social network' anymore than i have to, but if it has a chance of improving my career (the (non-bass-playing, day job), and potentially opening doors that may not otherwise be on my radar, it seems like it could be worth it.

Have you sued likedin.com, in your (non-musician) career? what are your impressions?

2. tycobb73

tycobb73

Jul 23, 2006
    Grand Rapids MI
    I use it. But I'm a small business owner. I've gotten a little bit of business off of it. As it is for professionals, it does appear more professional than facebook. Overall I like it better than facebook. I don't know if I post a link to my site if it actually goes to the person's stie that's clicking on the link or my site so just in case here is my site.

http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=45065567&locale=en_US&trk=tab_pro

3. Fiset

Fiset I do a good impression of myself

Jan 13, 2007
    New York
    I use it and have had several opportunities come my way because of it. I'm fairly happy with the firm I'm with but I'm always willing to listen to other opportunities. I was recently contacted by a company who saw my linkedin profile and we had a couple of meetings which resulted in that company extending me an offer. I ended up turning them down but I was happy to at least have gotten the opportunity.

4. Yerf Dog

Yerf Dog

Jun 29, 2009
    Carol Stream, IL
    Nothing to lose. More professional networking than social.