1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anyone Actually use the Foam Mutes on a Music Man Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spectre Gunner, Jan 15, 2020.

1. Use the MM mutes all the time

10.5%
  2. Use the mutes sometimes

31.6%
  3. Never use the mutes

42.1%
  4. Tried it and didn't like it

5.3%
  5. Other - Please Elaborate

10.5%
  1. Spectre Gunner

Spectre Gunner Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2016
    Tampa, Florida
    I recently acquired a beautiful 30 year old Salmon colored MM Stingray 5 in mint condition. I don't use the term mint for a used bass but this one really is mint. It had to have been just sitting in it's case it's whole life.

I'm new to Music Man basses since I've primarily owned Fenders. I didn't know the bridge has adjustable foam mutes for each string until I checked out this bass. None of them are touching the strings right now and I haven't tried these yet. It looks like a well thought out design for a foam mute and seems to be much better than trying to stuff a piece of foam under the strings.

Whenever, I wanted to mute the open strings on my 4 strings I just used the V-Wrap near the nut. I'm a little better at controlling the strings these days and haven't felt the need to use a mute but I was wondering how many of you MM players use this bridge mute device and how effective is it for you?

Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  2. Spectre Gunner

Jun 8, 2016
    Tampa, Florida
  3. barginkov

barginkov

Feb 1, 2012
    L.I. New York
    That looks like a classic musicman not an old bass. The pickguard didint look like that

4. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
  5. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    When I had a Stingray with mutes, I used them. It was a nice, darker sound with no sustain.

6. jerry

jerry Too old for a hiptrip Gold Supporting Member

Dec 13, 1999