1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anyone Add a Switch To Put Pickups Out of Phase?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jgroh, Sep 11, 2008.

1. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2007
    Pennsylvania
    I had a local tech fix my amp recently and when I went to pick it up, he had some cool basses there. One was an old Fender (wasnt a P or J...and Im not an expert so I dont remember exactly what it was). But, he had done some mods to it and one of them was a switch to put the pickups out of phase.

It sounded awesome! Really funky but still subtle (i.e. not like an effect so much, just a little coloration if you know what I mean) I asked him if he could do it to my Geddy and he said yes and recommended a push pull pot to do it.

Has anyone done this to their bass and if so, did you like it?

2. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    I did it to a new Fender Jazz bass about 1976. I didn't like it and the tech I had do it told me "don't do it-let me wire it so you put the pickups in series, but in phase". But I wouldn't listen. All it did was make the bass sound very thin. It wasn't a sound I'd ever want to use and it certainly wasn't subtle, at least, when both pickups were at equal settings.

3. Series/Parallel is a much more useful option. When pickups are out of phase, there is cancellation at certain frequencies which, as 62bass noted, tends to thin out the sound.

Are you sure the switch was to put the pickups were "out of phase"?

4. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2007
    Pennsylvania