1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Anyone bought or tried a newer passive Fender Special Edition Deluxe PJ Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by patrick2099, Feb 2, 2018.

1. patrick2099

patrick2099

Feb 2, 2018
    I have been looking at the Fender Special Edition Deluxe PJ Bass, in Olympic White (http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender/Special-Edition-Deluxe-PJ-Bass.gc), for a while. I see that it is $100 off at Guitar Center, but that sale only lasts one more day. I know that putting the self-induced timer on myself is a bad idea, but I'm not always known for making good decisions.

I have been playing guitar for about 30 years, but have never bought a bass, for some reason. I honestly know next to nothing about basses. I live two hours from any Fender dealers that carry a large selection, so I haven't been able to try many models, but I did try some Fender Americans, MIM Fenders, Squires, an Ibanez and an Epiphone.

The Jazz bass neck felt the best to me -- probably because I'm a guitar player. From the basses I tried, I think I prefer passive to active, unless there is a switch to disable the active. I like the idea of the P/J combo, to use mostly P with a little bit of J blended in.

On paper, the passive Fender Special Edition Deluxe PJ Bass checks about every box I'm looking for (passive, P/J, white or natural color). Reading through different reviews on here and elsewhere, it seems as though there was a $100 price increase, not too long ago, and I also read people saying they changed the bridge for a worse one.