1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

anyone else have resting bass face (a la john entwistle)?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bon viesta, Jan 3, 2021.

1. bon viesta

bon viesta

Dec 10, 2020
    i began learning bass about at the beginning of the year (which is now last year!!!) and as i was learning (preoccupied by drumming, i mean i didn’t really take bass seriously and i mostly did it because i was bored sometimes) i thought it would be funny to learn bass while having a “*_*” type of face, much like john entwistle, because i knew that your “instrument face” was a result of the face you made while in the process of learning any given muscle memory. my drum face is one of... well, i’d rather not mention. but anyways, here i am a much better musician and it’s stuck!!! i now have a resting bass face. what can i say? i think maybe i’m a bit proud of it :) well at any rate, how’s your bass face holding up?? do you have the same debilitating condition as me?

KeithAlanK and StereoPlayer like this.
  2. Mom always said I should smile more...
    5FC7F53E-DC05-4462-8B13-8176CBD8F2DE.jpeg

3. chris_b

chris_b

Jun 2, 2007
    Sadly I can only do one thing at a time. When I'm playing bass that cuts out 99% of facial expressions and nearly all movement on stage!!

4. bon viesta

bon viesta

Dec 10, 2020
    i always found entwistle’s calm demeanor to be nothing short of bad ass. but he was just a cool dude :thumbsup: with a voice to match. his voice was actually a bit scary...

5. I'm the same way.
    I was playing a show a couple of years ago in a small club that was packed. It was a reunion of those of us who were in a very popular band 25 years ago who are still friends. In fact, I was the soundman back then but the bassists had all been jerks or had left the state.