Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone else have this "problem"?... (watching live music)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Supergroup, Mar 16, 2006.

1. I am at a stage in my development as a bassist where I am having a hard time just enjoying music like I used to. I am analyzing everything too much, technique, tone, equipment... hell, I am even distracted by the overall sound, lights...etc... everything that goes into a "big act" live show.

I saw Bela Fleck and the Flecktones (w/ Victor) last night here in KY. I just couldn't get into the music (aside from disliking the sax) like I used to. It isn't just this show, but all of the "big" shows I have seen lately. I just can't be the naive whirling dervish in the kaleidoscopic wonder of music that I used to be.

I studied architecture in college and the same thing happened to me. I loved the "wonder" of a particular building/form and was quickly dimmed with my obsession to know the techniques that made the "thing of beauty". After I calculated or studied it's structure, it's pure essence (what made me love it to begin with) was lost.

Does anyone else have this problem? If it even is a problem.

2. I completely understand where you are coming from. I call it "The deal with the devil".

It goes like this... You are young, don't yet understand how music is made, you just know you love it and it takes you to magical places in your mind because you don't know 'what's behind the curtain'. It all seems quite magical. Then the devil shows up in the form of a music education opportunity - piano lesson, a guitar, school orchestra...

He says, "Hey... ya wanna know how all that works?"

You say, "Oh yeah! Of course I do! I want to do the magic too!"