Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone else having a lot of ports scans via firewall?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by odie, Sep 21, 2003.

1. odie

odie Supporting Member

I usually average 1-5 blocked port scans via ZoneAlarm. But today I have had atleast 30!!!

What gives?? Im a noob when it comes to this. But it seems out of ordinary for me.:eek:

2. i noticed this too; the day i installed zonealarm, i had a scan *immediatly* when it was opened up!

in the past 2 weeks, I've had 150,000 scans, and I do not have any servers, websites etc.

hacking is really stupid :meh:

3. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS *

Jan 25, 2002
    The frozen north
    Any PC owner that has a minimum of survival instinct should get a firewall and an email virus scanner ASAP. Properly set up the hacking turns into pathetic background noise. It is annoying though to know that there's thousands of pimply geeks attacking your computer at all times. Maybe we should bring back public caning. Would be suitable for the spammers too.

Please note the absence of a smiley face.

4. odie

odie Supporting Member

Do you even need an email scanner if using hotmail etc?? Ive heard the debate before. But was not sure of what to think etc.

5. FretNoMore

Jan 25, 2002
    The frozen north