Anyone else mostly self taught? How much do you suck? ;)

Discussion in 'Double Bass Pedagogy [DB]' started by Ed S, Nov 3, 2021.

1. Ed S

Ed S

Nov 14, 2019
    There is yet another thread going on where some posters have gone on about the importance of getting instruction and practicing daily. I don't dispute that that would definitely be the best way to get better quickly. But I think such comments do some disservice to what a reasonably interested person could do on their own, with minimal/infrequent teaching, and less regular less lengthy practice. Wondering if anyone cared to discuss.

For me, the biggest impediment is my overall laziness. Going to regular lessons, and practicing regularly, would make my playing more like work than what I do for fun. I know I would progress further and faster with lessons, but I am still progressing with what am doing.

Also, I'm not sure how high my expectations are. Right now, it would have to be a pretty high-level bluegrass/oldtime jam for me not to contribute very meaningfully. (Yes, I have played with pros at speed, and yes I have been told I fell short.)

I'm progressing with the bow enough that I'm having a lot of fun with a low level adult string quartet. I KNOW I'm getting better, because almost every week I realize I am doing something I flat out couldn't do a short while ago.

So I get it - if you want to be in a high level classical or jazz setting, you ARE going to need instruction and some dedication to practice. But when folk go down that track, I think they somewhat fail to acknowledge what can be accomplished on one's own, perhaps with only occasional tuneups with a teacher, or on-line, or at a camp...

Or am I deluding myself? Wouldn't be the first time!

Inky13 and johnny_bolt like this.
  2. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    You know better than we would.