1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Anyone Ever Build Their Own House?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by iamlowsound, Aug 26, 2012.

1. As a lot of you know, I am a hard core DIYer. I like to design and build things and I worked as a carpenter for years. My wife and I have decided to take on the ultimate DIY job, we are going to build a house. At the moment, we are just in the design and planning stage, but I hope to be turning ground by spring 2014.

Right now we are looking at building a 1500 sqft bungalow, or ranch for those of your South of the border. I plan on using ARXX (http://www.arxx.com/) for the structure of the house and I will be doing in floor heating on both the main level and in the basement. My plan is to have a very energy efficient house by the end of it (LEED certifiable, doubt I'll get the actual certification though). I am going to be doing as much work with concrete as possible, because I am an engineer and I love the stuff, it is also a very green building material.

If anyone has any tips, or advice, please feel free to give it.

lowsound

2. colcifer

colcifer Esteemed Nitpicker Supporting Member

Feb 10, 2010
    A Galaxy Far, Far Away
    Concrete's good. You could also use adobe or strait up dirt if you wanted to. Post lots of pics.

I've never designed a building but if it were me, I'd be thinking a lot about future-proofing. Anything that could become outdated or just plain go wrong should be easy to access and the structure should lend itself to retrofitting. But you're an engineer; you knew that already. Looking forward to following your progress!