1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Anyone ever get the yips?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by davec, Oct 11, 2013.

1. davec

davec Supporting Member Commercial User

May 4, 2006
    bartlett illinois
    Owner; Cody Electric Basses
    I'm feeling a little like Steve Sax....
    I've played most of my life (I've been playing for 30 years)
    Most of the last 10 years it's been doing the Worship thing, admittedly I had become complacent. Run the songs once before rehersal, run it once before service and I could nail it. I switched churches about 9 months ago, and started playing with my new worship team 7 months ago. I put in extra time because I wanted to make sure I was tight.
    For the last month, I can't play, I don't reherse well and I kinda suck. I'm stepping on the groove, I'm throwing out plenty of sour notes, my timing is weak (always the strongest part of my game)
    It is like I'm a second basemen that struggles to throw the ball to first.
    Anyone else ever have a case of the musical yips?
    Any suggestions? (I'm usually and decent player) but I'm starting to not enjoy playing because I am starting to doubt my ability....

I'm putting in the practice time, and can get somewhat tight with that , but once I'm live .... :(

2. Sounds to me like you need to get away from the bass for a while. Take a break from the bass for a few days to a week or two, then see what happens. You could be overanalyzing things while you're playing, and a small break might be just what you need to relax and just play. ;)

3. bravesaint5

bravesaint5 Supporting Member

May 14, 2008
    Minneapolis, MN