1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anyone Familiar With The Ampeg SVT3-Pro?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ryevick, May 12, 2011.

1. ryevick

ryevick

Dec 19, 2009
    I am an OTR truck driver and I am out until next month but have come across a deal on an SVT3-Pro back home that needs a decision now. From what I've heard and read about these heads being awesome, I am also wondering if this head will be too much to have indoors practicing, kicking back on the sofa playing at low volumes... I know solid state stuff usually has no problem at low volumes but this is tube (which is a good thing). I may also be moving soon... not sure where yet, so I really do need to think about this. Can it be played at low volume levels and still deliver it's sound? Just FYI I would probably go with an Ampeg SVT-410HLF. I have a feeling this is a noob question and as far as tubes go I am totally a noob :D.

2. PSPookie

PSPookie

Aug 13, 2006
    Lubbock, TX
    An SVT3-Pro is probably a bit more than you need for living room practice, but the volume knobs on tube amps work just as well as those on SS amps.

3. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    SVT3-Pro is SS power, with a tube pre section. Not an all tube amp.

4. JP Morin

JP Morin

Mar 15, 2011
    Quebec
    That's a keeper,
    This one of the best sounding ampeg head IMO, I sold one to get an svt-4pro for a power trip and drive my 2 - 4 ohms cabs, but the svt-4 sounds a bit less well.