Anyone gone from an Aguilar DB750 to Epifani UL502?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Andy Will, Mar 10, 2006.

1. Andy Will

Andy Will

Apr 11, 2003
    London, England
    Hi Bass Folks!

I've been using my Aguilar DB750 for a couple of years but for a couple of reasons, quite fancy moving to something else. Just curious really if anyone here has actually traded in their Aggie for an Epifani UL502 (or 902 ;)). Alternatively does anyone own/use both?
    I know they should 'technically' be very different beasts, but am considering the changeover in the next couple of weeks.

Also curious about user's cab choices for quite load rock pop, along with fusion kind of playing.

Any advice/experience greatly appreciated!

2. Daywalker

Apr 13, 2005
    I'm considering unloading all my Ampeg gear for Aguilar gear. Specifically, a DB750/GS410/GS212 set-up. I also play the same basses you play. What is it about the tone/sound that's making you consider switching? Do Aguilar and Warwicks make a good combo? Thanks...
  3. Since you aren't getting many I am with something that's close! I've recently played through a DB750 at Tom's house, and remember a number of posts from, I believe Tommix, and maybe SMASH (not sure) regarding the fact that the Thunderfunk550 will get you 80% of the way to a DB750 in 2 rack spaces and 16 pounds. With my extensive experience gigging with the TF550, and my limited music store and GTG experience with the 750, I think the Thunderfunk would probably be the best 'light, small' head to swap out for the DB750 if that's the way you are heading.

You aren't going to get the thunderous lows and massive headroom of the 750, but the TF550 can sound very warm and punchy and 'tube-warm' and is plenty loud. Quite frankly, I like the tighter low end and the very, very powerful tone control options of the TF550 vs. the big Ag.