1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

anyone got any sweet revenge tales?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by powderfinger, May 16, 2011.

1. powderfinger

powderfinger

Feb 24, 2009
    My 1st bar gig ever... mid 90s. I am a newbie from the word go (I had not yet become a vocalist.. just a bassist). After the show I changed clothes and threw on a hat. I ended up striking up a conversation with a lead singer in another band (lean, strapping guy... great hair), who probably was 10 years older than me. He apparently didnt recognize me from onstage, because he said, "those guys that just got done playing were pretty good... well, other than the sh*t bass player". I looked at him, and said, "sorry.. it's my first gig... maybe Ill be better next time". He tried to aplogize but I was so pissed I just walked off and told him "F you" under my breath.

Fast forward about 15 years. My new band (in which I sang lead) is playing a pretty swank bar, making some decent bank. We played so great that night. My playing was at its A game for sure. We had girls dancing. Fun night. After the set, I notice a familiar face sitting at the bar alone. It's an overweight, balding guy sitting up at the bar smoking cigarattes and drinking a pitcher of beer... alone...