Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone have a lot of experience painting wood cabinets?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by DigMe, May 26, 2004.

1. DigMe

DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    I'm no noob to painting but this is my first time painting wood cabinets. We're painting the kitchen cabinets in our new home and I have a question. We're already done with the prep and have the primer on half of the cabinets. I've read a lot of articles and how-to on painting cabinets and I'm getting mixed suggestions on what to use to apply the paint coats. Several articles have suggested using a roller with a short nap or a foam roller. Then I read a couple of articles (one from the "This Old House" website) that specifically say to NOT use a roller or foam roller. Has anyone here had experience using both a roller and a brush? If so what were the differences and did you have success on cabinets with a roller? It would definitely speed things up if I could use a roller!

brad cook

2. Someone help! I'm also right in the middle of this. I just started sanding the doors. I was thinking of a paint sprayer but I'm afraid of the overspray mist getting all over the place even if I cover things up well.

3. sprayers can be a real nightmare inside. especially in a kitchen.

where's that this old house article. i tend to have a lot of faith in those guys... even though it would be my tendancy to use a roller. i want to see what they have to say about it.

4. DigMe

DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
  5. DigMe

DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    baba,