1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Anyone have any experience with Ametto or Keith, Curtis & Clifton basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jumpshotjonny, Aug 27, 2012.

1. So I'm a self taught electric bass guitar player. I've always wanted to learn how to play upright bass and I've decided there's no better time than the present.

There doesn't seem to be many options for places to buy/rent upright basses here in Central Florida (if anyone knows of any shops I should check out let me know). There's a a shop pretty close to me called Atlantic Strings and they carry upright basses.

They carry entry level basses from a couple of different makers Ametto and Keith, Curtis & Clifton. I don't know too much about upright bass makers but I've seen on the forums a lot of people have good things to say about makers like Upton, Shen, and Christopher for quality entry level basses.

Anyone played either an Ametto or Keith, Curtis & Clifton and have an opinion? Can't really find much info so far searching the internet.

I'm trying to decide if I should buy or just start off renting first. Definitely want to get a teacher, the Atlantic Strings shop gave me some numbers to some local teachers.

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    The best thing you can do is to start right here with the Beginner's Guide. Among other things you'll find in that guide is the recommendation to buy a bass from a real bass bass shop. The basses you mentioned look like house-branded Chinese and European imports of unknown (to me, anyway) quality.

You are wise to be planning on getting a teacher. Besides teaching you proper habits and technique, a good teacher will help you to prevent injury-- which is likely more probable than you think.