Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone have any info on this music man setup?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mears, Jan 26, 2003.

1. mears

mears

Jan 25, 2003
    My dad has some old equipment that he used back in the day and I'm trying to figure out if its salvageable or if I should get my own stuff(I'm just learning).

The amp: Music Man HD-130
    The speakers: 2 Music Man 15s that came with the amp

The amp and possibly the speakers were damaged in a flood we had in our basement. I'm not sure exactly what is wrong with the stuff and even if someone would be able to fix it or not. Mainly I'm just wondering about the quality of the amp and speakers to see if it's even worth my time to look into repairs.

I know absolutely nothing about playing the bass yet, but I had my dad teach me a couple Metallica songs when I still lived at home and I was unable to figure out how to get distortion(if that is even the correct term) to work right with the setup.

2. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    hmmmm..... Music man isn't really noted for it's amps. Their guitars and basses are awsome but I haven't seen too many of their amps around the traps. The flood thing worries me too. Speaker cones are usually made of paper moisture will ruin them. You could get them re-coned , but before you do that, have a qualified person check out the electronics of the amp - again water and electricity are a bad combination.

3. mears

mears

Jan 25, 2003
    Thanks for the reply. The cones are fine on the speakers. I'm not really sure if they work because I can't get the amp to power on at the moment.

Here are the links I could find about the amp:
    Review 1

and

Review 2

These guys are all had positive things to say about it, but who knows how much they know.

Here are some pics from an ended ebay auction
    Pics