Anyone heard of doing this...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by LukeMan970, Aug 18, 2005.

1. LukeMan970

Jun 22, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    I've heard of people putting super glue on there picking fingers to protect them in a way. I was thinking about doing this because no matter how much i play i can't get any caluses to form on my fingering hand and so my fingers just hurt all the time. do you guys think the super glue is a good idea or do you have any other suggestions?
  2. Ego

Jan 10, 2004
    just keep playin man, the pads will come. if you REALLY have to, it's proably work... but try to tough it out, you'l be better for it
  3. permagrin

May 1, 2003
    San Pedro, CA
    I've been playing for (ouch) 20 years now. I've never really developed caluses except for a little thicker/tougher skin on the outsides of my left pinky and index fingers (probably because these fingers do the majority of sliding) and my right index finger (I use it more than the middle finger, I'll often use one finger to get a more uniform attack). But it's subtle, can barely be called caluses. When I regularly messed around on a steel string acoustic g****r, caluses developed (thinner, tighter strings probably).

Anyway, back to you... the fingers hurting thing - is this skin-deep pain or could it be more muscle/tendon pain? Maybe a technique check could help, and making sure your fingers/forearms are stretched and warmed up before rippin' away?

And I won't hesitate sealing up little cuts with superglue, but other than the CA I understand there's other stuff in commercial superglues that's no good for you. I doubt it'd help you anyway, but if you get a little cut on your finger opening a can of pineapple chunks right before you hafta play, a little superglue can make it a non-issue.
  4. fraublugher

Nov 19, 2004
    ottawa, ontario, canada
    music school retailer
    if the playing isnt enough do some gardening and carpentry ;)