Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone here join a band where they weren't the bass player? How did you manage?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SuperDuperStar, Dec 12, 2005.

1. Anyone here join a band where they weren't the bass player? How did you manage not being the bass player? I just joined a band as a singer and this is my first project not holding down the low end. The bass player is good but I find myself watching him and listening to what he is playing more than anyone else.

2. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    I was drafted in to sing for a band...I soon left however. I felt my hands were empty on stage, I wasn't grooving. And the bassist was pretty crap too, I ended up quitting after thinking "I could do so much better". The whole thing dissolved soon after.

3. same here, its weird being on a stage and not playing bass. makes me feel naked

4. I played guitar for a short side project once. It was definitley weird to be doing something other than bass with a whole band. I did have a hard time dealing with the bassist's tone, mostly, but I tried to tune it out. A Deville 2x12 can really make you forget about how everything else sounds! Unfortunately, the group sucked, me included. It's hard to play guitar while standing, since I sort of hold the bass down with my thumb while I play. Not an option while picking.

5. If you are a decent vocalist, then I would imagine you would fair pretty well. OTOH, if you are lousy, I suspect your tenure will be short.

I play bass, guitar, steel guitar and dobro. One guy I play with plays guitar, bass and keys, another plays drums, guitar, bass and lap steel. We mix and match and recruit others as needed. Don't get stuck with one instrument.

6. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    NET