1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Anyone here wear a kilt?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Ray Holt, Mar 28, 2006.

1. My dad's side of the family is 100% Irish, and I was always curious about wearing a kilt. I just got my first utilikilt yesterday, and wore it to all my classes today. I've gotten plenty of amusing looks. It's my first time wearing one, but let me tell you, these things are COMFORTABLE! Just have to be a bit careful when it starts getting windy (I go to the University at Buffalo [NY]... the wind almost never stops in Buffalo...)

It's hard for most to understand that's actually a male garment that is worn casually. Some of the comments were "What's the occasion?", "Hey look at that, that's awesome!" and of course a few "he's wearin a skirt!" (silly people don't know much...)

So I was just curious, anybody else here wear kilts? They're getting more and more popular. Check 'em out...

www.utilikilts.com

-Ray

2. I do have one, but it's a REAL kilt. A great kilt. 8 yards of fabric. In the correct tartan, too!!

[​IMG]

Rock on
    Eric

3. Awesome! I hope to get a traditional kilt someday too. But those things (as you know) are quite expensive... and well the utilikilt is all I could afford being a college student. Someday though...especially a great kilt, that's just too badass!

-Ray

4. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL The Beagle Father Supporting Member

I have , It was a great expirence. :)

5. lamborghini98

lamborghini98 The Aristocrats

May 1, 2005
    NYC; Portland, OR
    Ive never had the pleasure of wearing a kilt... but I have a friend who plays the pipes and has to wear one every few weeks or something. He also said they were pretty comfy.. but I just cant see all the wind down there being too pleasing.