Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone just play with a pick??

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BASSBOOST, Aug 26, 2005.

1. I'm still new to all this, but I find I can play with a pick way better than I can with my fingers.So I was wondering if anyone plays with just a pick?, excluding slapping of course.Just wanted to know If I'm weird or what.Everyone tells me a different way to play bass, but the pick is the most comfortable to me.Anyways, Thanks in advance.... Nik.

2. Play whatever is the most comfortable

I used fingers for most of the time, but then the music needed to be played with more attack, which you get from a pick, so i started learning to play with a pick about april time this year, and ive stuck to it for most things :)

3. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    UK
    in my present band I play only with a pick, because that's what the music demands.. and my technique is more developed than my fingerstyle just due to the hours i've put in with the pick

I think it's good if you can whip out slap, pick or fingerstyle whenever it's required but there's no shame in having one technique that you prefer...

you're a chef, and your techniques are part of your ingredients... you don't have to have every possible ingredient sat there in your cupboard in order to make some great meals, but it's good to have well-stocked shelves just in case :)

4. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    I've been primarily a Pick player for 25 years. I'll play fingerstyle also from time to time, but I simply prefer the varied sounds I can get by using different types of picks for different styles of music. ;)