Anyone know anything about Dante?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by _Some Dude, Mar 3, 2024.

1. _Some Dude

_Some Dude

Sep 14, 2016
    Someone mentioned offhand that live sound is going the way of using Dante for multi-channel audio networking, and that I could use a Cat5 cable to connect my IEM mixer to the FOH mixer, thus eliminating the requirement for splitters and a snake.

Anyone know about this? I've been trying to do some research, but most of what I've found kinda assumes that I already know something, which I don't.

I also have a new mixer on order (Presonus StudioLive 24R), and want to figure out if I should cancel it and order something different instead?

bdplaid and DJ Bebop like this.
  2. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    I am by no means an expert but I don't believe this is anything new. The Yamaha LS9s I ran over 15 years ago used ethernet snakes. I don't remember if any of them used Dante, but pretty sure it was a possibility. AFAIK Dante has been around since 2006.

The cable is not the basic ethernet cable. I believe our snakes came on 100' (or more) reels and had ends something like this:
    upload_2024-3-3_23-53-35.png

DJ Bebop likes this.
  3. s0c9

s0c9 Supporting Member

Jan 9, 2014
    Ft.Worth/Dallas
    1964 Audio artist, Fractal Audio Beta Tester
    It’s NOT that simple, and it’s late here.. I’ll reply more in the am.

4. Geri O

Geri O Endorsing Artist, Mike Lull Guitars and Basses Gold Supporting Member

Sep 6, 2013
    Florence, MS
    Really late, or early, but look into the AVB networking features of the Presonus SL24R. Very similar in scope and purpose. AVB is built in to the 24R. And it connects the Presonus EarMix personal monitor mixers to the 24R

Rickplaysbass and DJ Bebop like this.
  5. EvilJ

EvilJ Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2023
    Southern Nevada
    DJ Bebop, s0c9 and mdlewis like this.