Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone know C++?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by h3llRa][seR, Apr 26, 2003.

1. I'm fairly new to it and I need some help writing a program.

2. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    I know C++, though I may be a bit rusty. What's the problem?

3. geshel

geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Seattle
    Yeah, heh. Hmm, writing a program. OK, put this here, and that there. . . ;)

Got anything specific?

4. haven't programmed anyting at all for a few months, but I know C++, so what do you want to know

5. It's for my Computer Science class. It's just an assignment, but seeing as I have the worst teacher in the world I am having some trouble.

Here's the assignment:

Write a program that will promt the user to enter an amount of money between $0 and $10 (decimal places allowed.) Determine how many quarters, dimes, nickels, and cents are needed to make up that amount and this information to the screen. Additionally, ensure that the output makes grammatical sense. (for example, if you need only 1 dime , then the output should not write the plural "1 dimes".)

I have been working on this for 2 days. I was totally confused by my teacher. About 90% of my class was having trouble with this and she explained it briefly. I was using "double" as my data type and it semed like I was going in the right direction then she said to use %, but if she wants us to use decimal points then that won't work because % doesn't work with the "double" data type and you can't get decimals from the "int" data type.