Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

anyone know what i'm talking about

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bayou_Brawler, Jan 21, 2004.

1. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    i have very little experience with different kinds of basses. i have a 1998 stingray and a new MIA jazz. when comparing the two i have realized two things that bug me.

1. the g string on the stingray is weak

2. this is hard to explain. other strings on my stingray besides the one i'm playing on seem to resonate sometimes. if i'm slapping an open D my A might start to make noise. or if i'm slapping really fast using a lot of open strings it just gets really sloppy sounding. on my fender the only string making noise is the one i just touced.

?????????understand??????????????

i do love my stingray and i hope she doesn't see this.

2. Bayou_Brawler

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    anyone?

3. RE: #1 - Try loosening the screw at the bottom of the pickup (nearest the control knobs), this will raise the pickup closer to the G and D strings, which increases the potential for the magnets to sense the vibration of the string. There should be a volume increase when you do this. Remember not to raise the pickup too far that the string actually hits it, but you should be able to raise it somewhat. Also, your action might be too high on the G and you could probably lower that string saddle on the bridge.