Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone own/played an EDB605?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pearl_jammin, Apr 13, 2004.

1. Hi, I've been playing 4 String for 3 years now, and I'm looking to take the step up to 5 String.
    I'm looking at the Ibanez EDB605 (Nice step up from my Rockbass Streamer).
    Anyone own one of these or played it? I'm just wondering what sort of tone it makes, and how good it is for slapping/tapping etc.
    Thanks for any help

2. Hofbrauhaus

Hofbrauhaus

Feb 10, 2002
    Upton, MA
    I owned an EDB605 before upgrading to a Stingray5 (and I also have a Warwick Streamer LX5 on the way!). My EDB605 was my first bass and it served me very well. It is not the most durable instrument though. The grey finish rubbed off in an area where part of my hand rested after only 1-2 years of playing. The luthite body was comfortable though, but always had a funny smell to it, but it's something that fades slightly with time. Overall the bass sounded good and I never had any problems with it. However, it needs a fresh set of strings to prevent it from sounding a little muddy. I found DR highbeams to work best on it for both finger style and slap/pop stuff. It's also very easy to play and I was able to achieve a pretty low action on it. However, I find even though I have small hands I'm much more comfortable with big thick necks (the thin neck on the Ibanez gave my hand cramps). However, if you like thin necks and want a good sounding reliable bass for a decent price I'd look into it. Try to play one first though. A bass that is only a few bucks more which is much better in my opinion is the BTB405 though, so you may want to look into that too. Goodluck...I'd sell you my EDB605 if I still had it but I let it go for 250 bucks with a gig bag and 3 sets of strings back in October!

3. Only

Only

Sep 8, 2002
    Warrensburg, MO