Anyone Remember Their 1st Gig?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by musicman5string, Mar 4, 2006.

1. musicman5string

musicman5string Banned

Jan 17, 2006
    I thought this might be a fun thread. Mine went something like this:
    When I was in High School, I had just begun to get into Jazz. One day I was at my local music stores trying out an electric bass and playing some funk stuff. A drummer walks in and says "Yeah man, that sounds great. Can you do a gig on Friday? We'll play some standards and some funk stuff." Now, I had NO buisness to be doing a gig playing standards, and said so: "Well, that would be great, but I just started learning some standards and I don't think I'd be able to keep up." Drummer: "Nah man, I hear your funk, I'm sure you're burnin on standards".:rolleyes: Me: "Ummmmm.......well, ok....I guess". Drummer: "Ok, great. It's at such and such at this time".
    So I show up for the gig, set up, meet the keyboardist and guitarist for the 1st time, who are all much older, and off we go. Here I am reading tunes out of the Real Book and getting horribly lost. :bassist: :crying: I mean, just right out of the gate. So the 1st set ends and the drummer says to me "Hey man, maybe it would be better if you sat the next set out". Well, I couldn't agree more. The embarressing part was that about 10 of mine friends showed up for the 2nd set and were like " come you're not playing?":bag:
    Needless to say, I didn't get paid the $50 either. I didn't do another gig playing standards for another year or two, and by then I was alittle better. What an experience.

Anyone got a good 1st gig story?
  2. B. Graham

B. Graham Guest

Aug 11, 2002
    My first gig was at The Drumstick in Lincoln, NE. It was a chicken place during the day, and THE hangout for UNL students interested in alternative (then called punk rock, new wave, cow punk, etc.) music.