1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anyone swap instruments with the guitarist for some songs?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by mexicanyella, Dec 21, 2016.

1. mexicanyella

mexicanyella

Feb 16, 2015
    Troy, MO
    I am in a just-starting-out three-piece band after a long hiatus from band playing, and it's my first time playing bass in a band after playing guitar for most of my life. I am having a blast and feel like I'm getting the hang of it quickly enough and all that...but I still think in guitar when it comes to contributing song ideas (we're working on original material).

In a past band one of the guitarists and the bassist would swap instruments for some songs, and I always thought in that setting it was kind of jarring; while both guys could play in time and in tune on either instrument, the whole vibe and feel of the ensemble changed and I was never entirely comfortable with it. Now when I come in with a guitar idea and show it to the guitarist, chances are good he'll want to just swap instruments rather than take my guitar part and run with it.

Do any TB members have good/bad anecdotes or advice to share on swapping instruments while maintaining momentum through a set, and not turning the whole band dynamic upside down after the swap?

BurnOut likes this.
  2. Hahaha

Hahaha

Sep 26, 2003
    Olympia, WA USA
    I do with one of the bands I play with. It's a four piece with two guitars. We mostly host jam nights so one of the guitar players and I will switch it up sometimes to make it interesting. He's a good bass player and I have no trouble playing guitar, although I prefer bass.

There's no real trick to it in our case. We just switch instruments and launch into the next song. We're not going for any particular vibe, we're just playing songs. The Edgar Winters band did it also back in the early seventies.