Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

anyone use in ear monitors onstage?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Doug Parent, Jan 27, 2005.

1. Doug Parent

Doug Parent Supporting Member

May 31, 2004
    San Diego, Ca.
    Dealer Nordstrand Pickups.
    The new band I'm in is all about these in ear monitors. I tried 'em on one gig. Couldn't hear my stage volume or tone worth a damn, and the tone of my bass in my ears left alot to be desired.

Question: would you be willing to try them yourself, or would you have a definite policy or feeling about it either way?

My other option is to use a hot spot monitor and I have never tried those before. Anyone?

My high standard for quality of tone from my bass on the gig is the conflicting factor. I wasen't sure which forum to post in so pardon this if its a near miss. Thanks.

2. jvbjr

jvbjr

Jan 8, 2005
    Normally you wear them in one ear, so you should be able to hear your amp and stage volume with the other ear.

I am all for anything to reduce overall volume so I am not deaf at 50.

3. Wasabi1264

Wasabi1264

Oct 3, 2004
    President: MusicDojo.com
    The main thing with in-ears is to get some good earbuds that really seal your ears...otherwise, there is NO bass response through them. I use the FutureSonics Ears, which use foam plugs, and they sound good to me. It just takes some getting used to...You won't feel the air moving out of your bass amp. However, I'm a big advocate of in-ears. Our band sounds much tighter, there is zero stage volume (we use V drums also), and we're "scalable" to any sized venue.

4. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI