Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anyone use modeling exclusively? Variax and Pod?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SteveC, Sep 12, 2005.

1. SteveC

SteveC Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    Just curious if anyone has gone all digital? Seems like a great way to have all the amps, effects and basses you could ever want. Yes I know they aren't EXACTLY the same, but does anyone in the crowd really know or care. Isn't close enough good enough? How many recordings use this technology?

2. I don't think you're going to get any takers here. I'm not knocking it but most if not all TB'ers are purists, even if they play cheap copies of Fender's.

I, however, am seriously considering going completely digital. I'm not a professional - purely hobbiest. I'm going to be trying out the variax bass on Thursday, and if it sounds good I'll be selling my Fender Jazz to get myself a Variax bass. Then I plan on getting the Bass Pod XT Live, and I'll be straight digital (except for my amp head/cab setup which will be set as flat as possible).

3. ireidt

ireidt

Mar 6, 2005
    Florida
    I happen to like digital, but its expensive, and I don't have the money

4. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    Please don't speak for 30,000+ people.

5. SteveC

SteveC Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    Let us know what you think of the bass after you try it.

6. westland

westland

Oct 8, 2004
    Hong Kong