Anything I can add to my combo to give it an extra punch? BESIDES A CAB

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DraVenSF, Aug 4, 2004.

1. I'm new with setting up a nice rig and I feel I made the mistake of getting me a combo to begin with. I have a SWR 15"Workingman's Combo, and I was going to add a cab to it soon to bring up to 200 watts from 160. But my question was, with the added cab, Im sure it won't be loud enough. Only 40 more watts. I got an effect board the BOSS ME-50B, and each time I use the Bottom Boost + Phaser (with all knobs turned down), I get this real nice hard punch to the bass with the Volume and gain half way on my amp, and the bass at about 3 o'clock. Is there anything I can get to add to the combo to get that extra punch without having to use my effect board? I would use the board if it didn't keep that phasery sound to it.

so any suggestions? or is my only choice buying me a whole another rig?
  2. jacostilllives

May 4, 2004
    I dont think adding a cab is going to boost your wattage from your amp..The only thing you can do to boost your wattage is to buy a new amp..
  3. The specs bout the combo I got says with an added cab it gets 200 watts...

just wondering if there is any effect or anything like that, that can give the bass a hard punch to it.
  4. RyanHelms

Sep 20, 2003
    Cleveland, OH
    Hardly any noticable volume from only 40 more watts, but you should get a more articulate tone by adding a 2x10. The 10's will add clarity, so you would come through more, even without the added volume.

I demo-ed a GK 2x10 combo with a 15 cab under it, and the added "voice" compared to just a 15 made a big difference. For the better to my ears, anyway.

Although plenty o'guys run 15's all day long and nail it, so...
  5. ster

Oct 18, 2003
    New Jersey

First off, adding a second cab will be signicantly louder because you'll have more speaker surface area moving air.