Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Anything wrong with Sunn?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Zirc, Nov 1, 2001.

1. Zirc

Zirc

May 13, 2001
    Los Angeles
    I like the Sunn 2x15 cab, especially it's price. I was just wondering if there's anything bad about Sunn cabs (the low 400 dollar price makes me wonder). I actually spoke to a guy who works at a music store and he said they make pretty good cabs, they just aren't popular.

I dunno, look forward to hearing your comments.

2. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I don't know what Sunn is like, now that Fender owns the company, but I played through an old Sunn Beta 100wt for a couple of years. (It was my old man's, he would have let me keep using it, but I had to buy another amp when I started playing in a band cause the Sunn wouldn't fit in my car :( ) Anyways, I like it a lot. Only problem is, sometimes it's hard to get a lot of low end out of it. It has a very punchy sound. Great for a fretless bass.

3. jasonbraatz

jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    i played a 300t with a 4x10 in a music store a few weeks ago, and while i didn't have time to dial in a tone i liked, the thing damn near took my face off volume wise. i'm sure with all the tonal control that thing has it would only be a matter of spending some time with it.

jason

4. 72beetle

72beetle

Jun 10, 2001
    Phoenix, Arizona
    I have a Sunn 6x12, and except for the fact that it's <scottish voice>FRICKIN 'UGE</scottish voice>, I love it. It's got a great wedge configuration on the speakers that just booms the sound forward and nice solid construction. IMHO a great cabinet.

5. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000
    TX