Anything wrong with Sunn?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Zirc, Nov 1, 2001.

1. Zirc

May 13, 2001
    Los Angeles
    I like the Sunn 2x15 cab, especially it's price. I was just wondering if there's anything bad about Sunn cabs (the low 400 dollar price makes me wonder). I actually spoke to a guy who works at a music store and he said they make pretty good cabs, they just aren't popular.

I dunno, look forward to hearing your comments.
  2. LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I don't know what Sunn is like, now that Fender owns the company, but I played through an old Sunn Beta 100wt for a couple of years. (It was my old man's, he would have let me keep using it, but I had to buy another amp when I started playing in a band cause the Sunn wouldn't fit in my car :( ) Anyways, I like it a lot. Only problem is, sometimes it's hard to get a lot of low end out of it. It has a very punchy sound. Great for a fretless bass.
  3. jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    i played a 300t with a 4x10 in a music store a few weeks ago, and while i didn't have time to dial in a tone i liked, the thing damn near took my face off volume wise. i'm sure with all the tonal control that thing has it would only be a matter of spending some time with it.

4. 72beetle

Jun 10, 2001
    Phoenix, Arizona
    I have a Sunn 6x12, and except for the fact that it's <scottish voice>FRICKIN 'UGE</scottish voice>, I love it. It's got a great wedge configuration on the speakers that just booms the sound forward and nice solid construction. IMHO a great cabinet.

5. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000