aphex punch factory vs boss cs-3?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Gingerfish, Jan 7, 2005.

1. taking into account i am new to effects and i have been told that compression is am essential effect to have a t least tried which do you think i should get taking into account the aphex is twice as much as the other?
  2. keb

Mar 30, 2004
    I have the Aphex and it's great, well worth it in my opinion. It compresses well without a bunch of pumping and breathing and sucking the life out of my tone. I've never used the Boss though, so I can't comment on that one.
  3. TampaBlues

Oct 28, 2002
    Tampa, Florida
    I believe the Boss cs-3 is designed for guitar, the Boss LMB-3 is the Bass version. I tried one of those recently and there was a ton of background hiss,I was not happy with it at all, Maybe it was just the one I tried though. I have heard a bunch of good reviews on the aphex punch factory. Good Buzz usually is a good indication of the product.
  4. Tritone

Tritone Supporting Member

Jan 24, 2002
    Santee, America
    I wouldn't say that it's essential, most of what you would use a compressor for in a live environment could be handled by utilizing good technique and proper set-up instead. I wouldn't even call a compressor an "effect" per se, but rather a "tool". Having said all of this, there are times when a compressor is nice to have, because *if used correctly* it can help a bass punch through the mix a bit by squeezing the frequency range together. The Punch Factory is a great unit, but keep in mind that compressors often cause more problems than they cure if you're not careful.
  5. Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    If youre new to effects I would certainly recommend the Punch Factory. I never liked the Boss anyway, but the Aphex only has one knob. How much can you mess that up? Whilst it isnt the most versatile compressor, its good and simple.

And people tell me the DI is good too. :)