Approach to Soloing

Discussion in 'Ask Todd Johnson [Archived]' started by Bassist4Life, Jan 15, 2006.

1. Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY

What is your approach to soloing in a gig where your role is the bassist? I read that sometimes you take on other roles like guitarist and horn player.

I am relatively new to improvisation. How would you explain soloing to a student working on a tune like Autumn Leaves?

Do you work with key centers? Do you have students think mesure by measure? I've had the most success with key centers. I've seen Aebersold books where a scale is written in each measure for soloing. For me, that is too much information to process for real time soloing.

What is your process? I've heard so many people say, "I just play." That can't be all there is to it. Maybe it is that way for a select group of musicians. When someone says that they "just play", I feel like they are hiding the real answer.

2. Todd Johnson

Todd Johnson

Sep 27, 2005
    Anthem, AZ
    HI Joe,

Great question(s)!

First of all when I'm performing at this stage of my development.....I'm literally just playing and reacting....just playing what I hear...(well, hopefully) asked;) ....that's the honest answer.

When I work with Jim Martinez, I'm literally functioning as the guitar player most of the time....(well, when he's hired an upright player...sometimes I'm hired as the bass player too) I play guitar voicings and do my best to compliment what Jim is playing on the piano....staying out of the register of the bass player etc. FUN other times, we trade fours back and fourth, so I function as the second soloist etc. You get the point.

BUT, what I think you're asking.....(and what most people want to know is).....HOW DID I LEARN TO DO THIS???

Asssuming that's what you really want to know, then here's a step by step method for getting a great start on learning how to improvise.