Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Arcus bows

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Wyzird05, Dec 4, 2003.

1. Wyzird05

Wyzird05

Dec 1, 2003
    South Bend, IN
    What does everyone think about Arcus bows? I played on the sinfonia and liked it, but has anyone played on the concerto?

2. Personally, I have no experience with Arcus bows (I own a Carbow), but I will quote a review the Italian bassist Vito Liuzzi posten on the 2xBasslist some days ago. Hope this will be of any help.

Vincent

3. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    Has anyone tried their new "S" series of bows (which replace the concerto, veloce etc models)?

Louis

4. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    Just asking again... Thanks

Louis

5. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    Just checking -again - if any one has any experience with their Concerto or (new) S6-7-8 models. Thanks
    Louis

6. mjt0229

mjt0229

Aug 8, 2007
    Bellingham, WA
    I met Larry Wolfe of the BSO recently, and he let me try out his bass and bow. The bass is a Prescott. The bow, to my surprise, was an Arcus. He was getting ready to play with a small ensemble that wasn't doing traditional BSO rep, so I'm not sure he uses the Arcus with the full orchestra.

I only had a moment with the bow, and I was on an unfamiliar bass. It seemed to sound and play well, but I can't really separate the effect of the Prescott from the effect of the Arcus.

7. neilG

neilG

Jun 15, 2003
    Ventura, CA
    That's the point, you can't. You have to try a bow on the bass it's intended for. I have a fine quality bow bought for a bass I no longer own that sounds awful on my current instrument. I've also played 60 dollar Glassers that sounded really good, but were mechanically odd. It's a mystery.

8. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member