are bass players made or born?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by steveg, Jan 1, 2003.

1. steveg

Feb 26, 2002
    Madison, WI
    I've been playing music for over 30 years now, mostly fingerstyle guitar, with a bit of bass here and there. I love bass, the sound, the feel, the groove. I'm adequate at it. Unfortunately, I just can't seem to get beyone adequate.

Is it possible that the ability to play bass really well is just not there for everyone?
  2. b0r3d

Dec 26, 2002
    Bass players are probably born, not made... I think I was born to play the bass... I love the sound to it, and I just started playing about a week ago, and I'd say I'm pretty good... 'Course, all I can play is tabs right now, but they still sound pretty good.
  3. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    i think that like any talent, you have to be born with it, there is only so much u can be taught

4. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    thats how i started, keep at it man, pretty soon u'll be using those tabs to start a fire, you be able to play by ear...just don't depend on tabs too much

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Bass players are made.

Jaco didn't become the world's greatest by not sitting around for 10+ hours on end nightly learning songs and practicing finger techniques.

granted some people may be born, more suited to play bass(long broad fingers) anyone can become a great bassist if they put the time and effort required to master such a craft. anyone ever see that upright player with one hand? he has a flexible stump for a left hand(no fingers) and I would consider him a very good bassist. Or the kendo(stick fighting) master with no legs.