Are Bass Players The Only Ones Who Care About Tone?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by srxplayer, Sep 15, 2004.

1. srxplayer

May 19, 2004
    Highland, CA
    I have noticed ever since joining Talk Bass that there is always talk about tone. Tone this, Tone that, thats got crappy tone, that has great tone and so on.

Previous to being a bass player myself I never paid much attention to a particular bass tone. Only Rics got my attention because they always sounded different to me than other basses but that was the extent of my interest. As a drummer I just locked in with them without any real interest in their particular tone.

I asked the four guitar players and the one keyboard player that I play with every Tuesday and Sunday and they don't really care either. I figured they would have some type of an opinion but they don't care. None of these guys are inexperienced musicians. All of them have been playing for over 30 years.

There are four guys now that play several types of basses on diferent weekends. Steinberger USA Spirit, Ibanez SR3005, G&L L-2000, Ibanez SRX 300, Fender jazz, and a Yamaha BB404. The other musicians can care less which bass is up there. All they care about is that you are on the right note, your keeping time with the drummer and that you are not over playing and making things muddy.

I'm not picking on anyone as I am just as anal about tone as anyone else on this board. I just think it's funny that 8 months ago I could care less.

Has anyone else experienced this?
  2. you mean, are bass players the only ones who care about BASS tone? because guitar players obsess over their tone even more than bassists.
  3. srxplayer

May 19, 2004
    Highland, CA
    Yes. Sorry for the confusion. I meant bass tone.
  4. They have been playing for over 30 years and have never listened??? Wow