Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

are bassists better dancers?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by danqi, May 31, 2001.

1. danqi

danqi

May 21, 2001
    Germany
    could it be that bassplayers in general are better dancers because they have a better feel for the groove?
    as for myself i can't judge it because i am just starting to learn how to play the bass.

orthanc

2. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS
    Or, what about vice-versa?

3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

There isn't a correlation to one's chosen instrument and ability to dance well, IMO. I think it's just a matter of having a rhythmic sense and being beat focused. I do think women are more beat-focused than men, though. Whether it's cultural or some other factor is beyond me.

The clubs I play have a lot of freak dancers. Talk about being on the beat!!!! :eek: Now some towns are cracking down on it.

4. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    not if im nething to go by, lol :p

5. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    I don't think there's a correlation. See, eg. John Entwhistle.

6. killer B

killer B

Apr 18, 2000
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    If my dancing ability is any reflection of my bass playing then I need to spend about a billion more hours practicing :D

7. Bean

Bean

May 4, 2001
    Kentucky
    I'm a bad dancer too. Maybe it's DRUMMERS who dance better...?

8. twiggy

twiggy Guest

Apr 27, 2001
    nc
    I agree with killer b except i do not think a billion could help me. I think i will need more like two billion because all i can manage is the old jackson moonwalk

9. i cant even play and chew gum at the same time, let alone dance