Are class D combo amps "green"?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SuperSubSonicRainboom, Apr 21, 2014.

1. wikipedia said "Theoretical power efficiency of class D amplifiers is 100%. That is to say, all of the power supplied to it is delivered to the load, none is turned to heat". Im just starting to learn about Class D and im wondering if its truly more responsible as a human to use a class D amp rather than one who wastes power that could be sent to the cone, into the thin air as heat. okay. now i'm completely sold on class D as my favorite type of solid state power in amp design. I still have love for the 6550 and the 6v6 and the 6l6, and now to include Class D. Does anyone know if the new fender rumble v3 class d have a low pass filter after the switching, and before the speak?

2. Best to eliminate speakers as well then. They turn the majority of the energy sent to them into heat as well.

3. Nope - unplugged unamplified is "green" ;)

4. Hate to rain on your parade but, in the very best cases only about 10% of the power sent to a speaker becomes sound anyway....the rest becomes heat in the voice coil. So the speakers are by FAR the biggest 'waster' of energy regardless of amp type.
    Don't know anything about the Rumble amp.

5. does one type of speaker dissipate heat or loose more energy than another type, like is alnico, ceramic, neo, etc more green in that way so that in a round about way there is a "green" way to mod a combo?

6. iualum

iualum

Apr 9, 2004
    Most of them I've seen are black :smug: .

SuperSubSonicRainboom likes this.
  7. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, ChopShopAmps
    The way we make cones move air currently, nope. Inefficiency is the reality for this.

8. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.
    Owner/Designer &Toaster Tech Passinwind Electronics