Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Are Ed Roman Lowrider Basses a Good Deal?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dr. Cheese, Aug 24, 2004.

1. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    From time to time I check out Ed Roman's Guitars cite and he really brags about his Lowrider Basses. He turns me off by putting down others, but I want to know if his basses are any good?

2. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK
    I have no direct experience with Ed or his basses, but I do know one thing:

There are a lot of people who make basses and all of them will brag about their products and tell you how good they are. However very few of them will publically put down other brands.

Personally, i'd rather not having anything to do with supporting an $$$ clown like that.

3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    I've head his instruments are overpriced. Then again, there's no garauntee you're not getting a retopped PRS :spit: .

4. emjazz

emjazz Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Boston, MA
    My only advice to you is stay far away from Ed Roman.

5. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I don't care if the basses play like liquid Jesus dipped in butter and greased with lightning sauce, there's just no excuse for dealing with the man.

6. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    +1

7. pistoleroace

pistoleroace

Sep 13, 2002
    WI
    I asked the same question some time ago and never got a direct answer about the quality of his instruments, the only thing I heard was stay away from him and had to listen to everyone cut him down. I'm not saying I disagree with everyone here because Ed does act like quite an idoit for a businessman but, it would be nice to know from first-hand experience what his instruments are like.

8. emjazz

emjazz Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003