Are Fender basses essential ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JayAmel, Feb 2, 2005.

1. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France

No meaning to make a bashing thread against Fender (I myself am a Fender player), no purpose to start a troll or any kind of polemics either, but I was wondering something... Actually this may be a debate rather than a Q/A thread...

When I was a young musician, back in the mid-70's, there was a commercial ad that was published every month in all French musical magazines. This ad was speaking of the sound of bass in pop/rock music, and the ad ended by : "... and nine times out of ten, the bass is a Fender". Well, that was approximately true.

Years have gone by, and many new manufacturers appeared. Yes, we all know their numerous names. But still, at least in Europe (and I believe, also in the other parts of the world), the most seen basses, live or on videos or TV, are still Fenders. Yes, there are companies specialized in "product placement", and this probably helps, at least on TV and videos, but it actually seems many well-known bass players have at least one Fender, and apparently use them frequently.

So do you think that Fender basses, 50 years after their first release, are still the most played ones ?

Thanks in advance for your inputs in this debate.

2. i don't think they are essential, but i also think they aren't a bad bass to have in collection, and i think they are essential for that old school sound, because usually that "old school" sound was a fender bass!
  3. rockdoc11

Sep 2, 2000
    I suspect Fender is still the most widely used bass.

But because there are SO many more bass options today, rather than a 90% share of the market, Fender may be down to a 60% share or whatever.

I don't know who would be in second place. Maybe Music Man?
  4. Classic but not essential - although I have a P and a J.
  5. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004