are Hartke heads reliable?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DUBZ, Nov 25, 2000.

1. DUBZ

Aug 28, 2000
    Yo Fellow Bassists!
    Are the above heads reliable & worth the money? I've been offered a hartke 3500 sec,hand & the guy wants £300 approx,
    i dont know much about Hartke gear & i'll be running a peavey 210tvx 4ohms & a marshall 1x15 8ohms off it!!!
    any response will be very welcome,
    thanks in advance,Dubz...
  2. I've been using my Hartke 2000 since 1994 with no problems (knock on wood). I use it quite frequently. I keep it in a pretty heavy duty rack, and take good care of it, like all my equipment.

3. not at the same time.. right? the hartke can't handle anything lower than 4 ohms..

4. I.'.I.'.Nakoa

I.'.I.'.Nakoa Guest

Aug 10, 2000
    Fort Worth.
    your not planning on running both cabs at one time are you? the 4 mixed and an 8 will screw any head up, unless it has a impedence of 2 ohms.. but using the cabs seperately.. yes the hartke is reliable.. i ahve a ha3500, and it kicks ass.. best tone.. unlimited tonal variations.. ask ikickuintheballs.. he also has one
  5. I've used a 3500 for the last six years (over 450 gigs) with out any problems.
    For the money I think it's one of the best value amps around, lots of power and a great range of sounds.
    Most of the problems associated to Hartke heads were due to bad solder joints a couple of years ago, for which they gained a bad reputation, but generally they would show up the problem when fairly new.
    As the one your thinking about is second hand, if it was one of the batch that had this small problem then it has probably been sorted under guaranty.

As previously mentioned, do not use both of your cabs together as the lowest impedance that you can go with the 3500 is a total of 4ohms, as is the case with most transistor amps unless you are prepared to spend big money.