Are IEMs overkill for a bar band bassist?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Odinbass, Jan 12, 2015.

1. Odinbass

Odinbass

Dec 6, 2006
    Cleveland, OH
    IEMs are well covered on TB, and I have read all the posts I can. However, with such a huge financial commitment on something I've never used before; I have to field opinions directly. So sorry if you're sick of IEM talk....

Specifics: I play in a 4 piece (1 guitar) rock cover band. We do small to medium venues with full PA support and a sound guy. The guitarist runs IEMs with a mono aux out directly to his transmitter. The rest of us use wedges. I also have a bass amp that I use at bigger places.

For me, I'm looking at 1964 custom Quads/Qis, the Carvin Transmitter/Bodypack, and possibly a Rolls PM351 so I can adjust my own mix somewhat. Roughly a $1100 investment when you include the audiologist impressions.

Why I Want IEMS:
    -To hear my vocals clearer, and thus hopefully improve my singing.
    -To hear *** my guitarist is doing over there.
    -To get away from bass amps and their volume/size
    -To get away from having the wedge be my bass amp (when i go ampless)

Why they may be overkill:
    -I make $100 a show... not exactly justified by my music income.
    -Even at my best I'm a mediocre singer, IEMs won't change that
    -Extra layer of complication to the setup
    -If I feel isolated it may 'take me out of the show' a bit.

If I was a pro touring musician this would be a no brainer, but unfortunately I am a weekend warrior and it's purely a luxury item to improve my live playing experience. Money could always be spent in smarter places but with a baby on the way this may be my last chance for awhile to get any nice music gear.
    I know a lot of people are happy with their IEM experience and a few say they didn't like it. I'd love to hear from any weekend warrior bar band types but anyone's input is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member