Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Are lessons worth the money?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by APerfectTool77, Jan 1, 2002.

1. Ive been playing bass for about 10 months now, but its been mostly tab that ive learned from. Ive been thinking of taking actual lessons lately. What does an average lesson contain? How fast do you pick up on the stuff? Do they teach me at my speed or what the pace they think I should learn at? Overall, do you recommend lessons?

2. i would say that you should take lessons. i basically taught mself most of the technique stuff and then when i took lessons i learned about scales and modes and chords, which i have found very helpful in my playing. i mainly use that stuff to improvise in key and play in key. it was also helpful in learning what notes were where on the bass. i could already read music but i didnt know where an e flat was on the bass. they pretty much go at your speed but that depends on what teacher you have. if you plan to just look up tabs and play cover songs all your life then dont take lessons, but if you want to make up cool stuff and read music i would deffinitly recommend lessons.

3. Lessons are well worth it! But as already stated, make sure you have a good teacher.

As I stated in other threads, you can become very good by not taking lessons BUT you will undoubtly waist a HUGE amout of time!! TAKE LESSONS!!

K.